Entertainment, Music
Comment 1

5 Great Events This Week

While hashing out the possibilities for replacing my broken phone,  I thought I would take my mind off of silly frustrations and write about what has had me so pumped about this week.

Thursday Theatrics: I am so in love with my job for many reasons, but one of the perks I enjoyed this week was showering my loved one’s with entertainment. I was graciously offered tickets to Miley Cyrus at the Century Link Center on Thursday, March 6th. This high-demand show isn’t exactly my style, but knowing my life-long friend’s younger sister’s were eager to go, I sent them on their way for a night of tongue slides, teddy bears and twerk-overload. My marketing brain gets the genius behind the over-the-top antics of Miss Cyrus. Still, I cant help but think the Disney darling has defined the phrase, “sell out, to sell out”. What does it say about the quality of music when it requires intentional wedgies to gain a following? The same can be said for lyrics and auto-tune. I don’t care how you spin it, “Bi***” is not a favorable term for your lady-friend.

Friday Fun: My parents enjoyed a bit of Japanese culture with the Taiko-drumming and choreography of TAO: Phoenix Rising. According to my father, “These guys made STOMP look like a kindergarten show.” One of my favorite things about working in the performing arts industry, is the exposure to multi-cultural and genre-divers talents. As Americans, our experiences are filtered by convenience. We make choices subconsciously influenced by television, radio and magazines…a marketing professionals dream!  As an art lover, I find grassroots efforts & independent research the best resource for discovering new entertainment.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to join my family for this uber-explosive event, but I couldn’t have been more pleased with my Friday night entertainment. The worship leader at Flatland Church, is also the booking manager for the local non-profit 402 Arts Collective. As a believer and music-lover, I jumped at the opportunity to support the organization and now enjoy introducing the community to this new venue and the mission it supports. Last weekend, the 402 welcomed well-known talents Red Jumpsuit Apparatus and Disciple. My concert-companion and musical-mate Lindsey, was at my aid as we welcomed fans at the door. This experience was not only spiritually rewarding, it was the most fun I have had at rock show in a long time!  Check out the 402 Arts Collective calendar here.

Saturday Supercross! If you haven’t figured it out yet, my man and I love us some supercross! Saturday, we reminisced our Florida days by reserving our apartment theater to watch the Daytona race. This was the first time in 3 years we experienced the Honda event from outside the Daytona International Speedway. Sad, but oh so sweet! Our parents joined the festivities bringing loads of goodies, while our dear Texas friends & fellow SX-lovers (Bryan and Jenny) fueled the fun via text. The 450 podium included, reigning champ Ryan Villopoto took 1st, followed by rookie Ken Roczen in 2nd, and Ryan Dungey in 3rd. On the 250s, 1st place went to Blake Baggett, Adam Cianciarulo took 2nd, and Martin Davalos finished 3rd.  For more info about the racing series, visit our favorite web resources: RacerX and TransworldMX.

Shen Yun Sunday: Continuing this event-packed week, my mama and I had a little Sunday afternoon date at the Orpheum Theater. As if she hadn’t gotten her culture fill from TAO: Pheonix Rising on Friday, I thought I would add Chinese dance and music to the mix. Shen Yun is a New York based, touring group, dedicated to educating audiences about the history of Chinese heritage through traditional song and dance. “Over its past 60 years of rule, the communist regime has treated traditional Chinese values−centered on the idea of harmony between heaven and earth−as a threat to its existence. And in its systematic campaigns like the Cultural Revolution, it has uprooted traditional beliefs and destroyed ancient treasures−bringing traditional 5,000 years of civilization to the brink of extinction.” We left the show feeling entertained and moved to learn more about the suppression of communism. After a blissful evening walk around the lake, we met for dinner at the tasty Bravo! Cucina Italiana where my history-buff father gladly fed our curiosity with a little lesson.

Wednesday Waiting Room: Wrapping up this amazing stretch of entertainment and experiences, are a few very different shows. While I would love to join my dear friends for Jillian Michael’s “Maximize Your Life” event at the Holland Center, I have already promised my concert-companion Lindsey, and musical buddies of Screaming for Silence, that I wouldn’t miss their show at the Waiting Room. Photos and compliments to come…

1 Comment

  1. Just goes to show, even if you live in a “little, big city” in the middle of the country, you can still be well-rounded. More to come, for sure.

Leave a Reply

