Entertainment, Music
Comment 1

My Musical Calendar (Pt 2)

Part 2 of My Musical Calendar continues with more amazing  performances scheduled to visit Omaha, only this time I would like begin by highlight some of the amazing entertainment I was privileged to experience last week.

Winter Jam 2014 – After a long day of racing, the guys and I were still up for some musical revival. While overly charismatic tunes cause skepticism about Christian music, most don’t realize how many mainstream musicians are all about Christ and write about it in their songs. What’s wrong with being “overly charismatic” anyway?

Did you know? U2, Mumford and Sons, Lenny Kravitz, Kings of Leon, Evanescence, Switchfoot, Relient K,  Red Jumpsuit Apparatus, Owl City, Skillet, Daughtry, The Fray, P.O.D, Underoath, Lifehouse, Flyleaf, The Devil Wears Prada…the list goes on. I saw Switchfoot at Omaha’s Slowdown in 2013, for their Fading West premier. All I can say is, “MORE PLEASE!” Switchfoot has topped my list of favorite performances & I cant wait to see them again this summer at Werner Park!

Back to Winter Jam – The highlights of the show (for me) were Plumb and LeCrae. Plumb shared a heartfelt story of her struggling marriage and how, in the midst of divorce, her relationship was saved and they instead re-married! Have a listen…this song is so powerful!

LeCrae was cray! Based on crowd response, the most popular performer of the night was LeCrae. If you havent heard of LeCrae, you can thank me later. Far from cheesy poetry, this is REAL hip-hop! LeCrae has never been shy about discussing his background and how he battled gang-life, drugs and a near-death experience before he gave his life to Christ. Not only are his lyrics vulnerably real, they’re laced with pop-culture humor and mixed to sick beats! Here are some favorites…enjoy!

JUST ANNOUNCED! Omaha Performing Arts announced their 2014-2015 season along with special guests from upcoming Broadway shows; two of The Rockettes and MOTOWN THE MUSICAL. While a thought-out calendar is scheduled far in advance, sporadic announcements filter through year-round, keeping things exciting. Recent additions include an acoustic performance with John Legend and the sensational cover-band Brit Floyd (a Pink Floyd Show). Working in performing arts keeps me on-my-toes. With an endless supply of new entertainment options, my expectations have been shattered by surprising talent. Still, I still have my favorites. Amidst enthusiasm for the upcoming season, I thought I would share some special moments from the event, as well as a list of the shows, musicians, dancers and comedians I am hopeful to see! View the entire calendar here.

1 Comment

  1. I read a lot of interesting articles here.
    Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there
    is an online tool that creates high quality, google friendly articles in minutes,
    just search in google – laranitas free content source

Leave a Reply

