Career, Inspiration, Lifestyle
Comments 4

What Motivates You?

A colleague recently proposed the question, “Why do you do this [blog]?” Ironically, while most bloggers consider themselves uniquely original, most of us are swimming in a sea of monotony. That’s right, for the majority of us, no one really seems to care. The kryptonite to this super-spasm is motivation. While we may lack variety in interests, not one of us has the same heart as another.

“It’s better to fail in originality than to succeed in imitation.” Herman Melville 

My Answer: I blog because I love to write. Specifically, I am passionate about recording moments that have stirred my soul in hopes they may inspire others to listen to that still small voice. What does it tell you? Planting the seed of motivation and watering with encouragement. What are your passions? Jim Carrey brilliantly stated, “We often make decisions out of fear disguised as practicality.” The objective of this blog is to inspire daily adventures and lifestyle fulfillment, so my hope is to help readers lift the veil and see a life capable of miracles.

“Find something you’re passionate about and keep tremendously interested in it.” Julia Child

Of course this is all relative. Daily adventures for me may be going to a concert, trying a new food or activity, exploring an interesting hobby or leaving town for a weekend road-trip. For another, daily adventures could be as extreme as quitting their job to travel the world, or as innocent as speaking in public. Transforming our thinking from impossible to miraculous and practical to open-minded is a risk not many are willing to take. This previously quoted video should help get the point across…


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take the chance on doing what you love.” – Jim Carrey

Motivation does not come without aspirations and, while I won’t bore you with my laundry list of goals for this blog, I hope to build a community of interactive readers willing to share  revelations in lifestyle fulfillment. Again, totally relative. Whatever your lifestyle, I believe growth only moves in one direction…and it isn’t backwards.  As a blogger, find true motivation in yourself, because comparison is the thief of joy.

“Today you are you, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is youer than you.” Dr. Seuss

Finally, I can not declare these heartfelt passions without crediting the source that moves me. To add to the original question from my colleague, the pastor of the church I attend asked us “What motivates your prayers and your decision to follow Christ?” What a loaded question! Truthfully, we are all self-motivated and according to Dale Carnegie, everything we do is motivated by what we want.  So why do we need to ask God for direction? Well, His word says His ways are higher than my own. To me, this sounds like His plan is way cooler than anything I could come up with, not to mention, the lightened-load of trying to figure everything out. Since becoming a believer, my life has changed. This does not mean I don’t face trouble, but it does mean I can have peace and understanding through all circumstances. For everything He has done for me, I feel lead to thank Him in everything I do. I am not perfect, but through grace I can try to  live a life worthy of the calling I have received (Ephesians 4:1).

 “Many are called, but few are chosen.”  – Jesus Christ

I want to be called AND chosen.

4 Comments

  1. I loved this post. I think it is always good to check-in about what motivates myself. Sometimes it changes, and sometimes I get off track. When I do get off track, I feel like that self-reflection is the best thing to set me straight!

    • I understand the feeling Lindsay! I feel like so many have these deep thoughts or intense words of wisdom, but don’t want to be the first to step-out. It is a very vulnerable thing, but I think gratifying for the writer and reader. I guess to be a stand out blogger/writer, you have to write about something that “stands out”. 🙂 Thanks for the comment! It’s reassuring to know there is someone on the other side of these posts.

  2. This is my first time visiting your blog. I found it on the Omaha Bloggers Facebook page. We recently moved to the area and with a new move comes a new blog where I hope to do just what you write about here…write. Just because I want to, every day, no matter who is watching, but secretly hoping that someone is. Looking forward to reading more.

    • Those community connections can be so helpful cant they?! I found Omaha Bloggers Group through a co-worker who writes http://www.ohmyomaha.com. I have been back in town for about a year now, and blogging (officially) for less. Building a strong network with others I enjoy or look-up to, has been the most encouraging investment so far. Good luck and I look forward to reading from you as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

