Career, Photography
Comments 10

My 1st Published Photograph!

Photography has been such a rewarding hobby, and recent opportunities to expand my portfolio have come as  unwarranted favor. I have no training, no production software, no assistant, no credentials – just a camera and a passion to capture candid moments.  My Nikon is barely 6 months old, and yet I have been showered with creative possibilities to grow through photography.

Most recently, I was asked to execute a simple task, which blossomed into a bigger request, and later aided in achieving my goal to be published by my 30th birthday (mentioned in a previous post).

IMG_3795

The queen of country hit-making, Reba, would grace the stage of the Holland Performing Arts Center for a special benefit concert and the local paper needed a few photos for show recap. “Easy enough,” I thought. Figuring the photo would be used for the website or archives, I researched my shot and prepped for a night of complex exposure.

“Easy enough,” turned out to be a front page story with a second page photo in the Sunday paper for the Omaha World Herald.  Being a performing arts organization, my employer has their pick of the city’s best photographers, and for some reason they asked me to fill-in.

IMG_3902

In the same goal-outlining post mentioned earlier, I shared this : Bold lives require bold action.  A common characteristic shared by my favorite photographers, is boldness; fearless visionaries seeking to transform what the world sees as ordinary into something extraordinary. The trill of bold-photography is what puts me on the edge of cliffs, in the face of racing dirt bikes, experimenting with composition, embracing challenge and shamelessly asking for more!

Psalm 37:4 “Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.  For the opportunities and recognition, I deserve no credit, because gifts are received – not taken. God is good and through Him I expect to welcome greater adventures than I could imagine…all for which I hope to be camera-ready!


Your feedback supports the ongoing success of Adventure Culture!
Please complete this quick survey.

10 Comments

  1. Okay, this is impressive. It is even more amazing that you race dirt bikes. What a woman! I have to say I suck at photography but am trying to get better with some help from PicMonkey.

    • Haha – Well thank you Cynthia (or is it Cindy?)! I leave the racing to my hubby, but like to ride along when I can. He makes for a much more impressive photo. 🙂

  2. Your photography is great! I am really trying to improve my food photography for my blog. There is so much to learn and LOTS of practice to be had, but I see myself getting better little by little.

  3. Congrats! I’ve been trying to improve my photography, but I still just always shoot on auto. My in-laws gave me basic photography lessons for Christmas last year, and I have yet to use them – yikes! Are you self-taught? Or have you had training?

    • My training goes about as far as asking photographers I know for advice. haha My talented hubby has been featured in a few magazines, so he has quite a collection of photographer buddies. I research a lot (youtube has some great tutorial channels) and study photographers I love; most are willing to share their tips and opinions. Where did you get lessons from? Rockbrook?

Leave a Reply

