Career, Faith
Leave a Comment

Check Yo Self!

So, I’ve been off my blogging game for a minute, largely because I’ve been so focused on other endeavors. If you follow me on instagram or facebook, you should know that I’ve taken this whole Adventure Culture concept to the next level. Not only am I doing freelance photography and writing full-time, I have also launched a new collection of apparel for Dirt Wife, “For the women who love the men who love motocross”.

CONFESSION TIME: With all this busy business, it’s easy to get snarky. When the pressure is on, it is extra important to sit back and check yo self! My family is my support system; they encourage me daily and are subsequently on the front line of emotional backlash. I think anyone who is truly honest with themselves can recognized that they are more testy with loved ones – possibly because we feel comfortable being totally vulnerable in front of them. Not my finest hour…

SOMETHING FEELS OFF: These life and work changes were once a dream and I feel so fortunate to be able to pursue my passions full-time. Still, change forces us to go through something new (sometimes uncomfortable) and therefore enables us to grow. After acknowledging this unfavorable stress/peace ratio, I immediately noticed a familiar red flag –>stress! Prior to seeking a relationship with God, I was consumed with anxiety and struggled to find daily peace; worry was “normal” and having a plan was my duty…not fun! Whenever I am stressed, I know it’s because I’m trying to be in control instead of putting my faith in God.

CHECK YO SELF! I decided it was time to eliminate distraction and have a little one-on-one time with the Prince of Peace. When things are busy in our own lives, it’s easy to forget about the needs or feelings of others. I was guilty! Through life’s ups and downs, I’ve learned that one thing remains consistent and never changes. I can and should always go to God for wisdom and discernment. When I’m buggin’ out, I pray. Okay…I also call my husband, best friend, or mom to talk about it – but prayer is what really makes a difference for me. In the midst of my busy schedule, and learning to operate my own business, I felt God telling me to think of others and practice compassion.

S.O.S. I realized I had been skipping trail rides with my husband and I wasn’t calling to catch up with friends or asking my parents how work was going. Instead of praying for my friends and family before going to sleep, I was making mental lists and trying to remember if I accomplished everything on yesterday’s mental list. YIKES!

Next time you’re feeling busy or tense, pay attention to how you’re treating others. Are you being kind? Thinking of their feelings or what they’re going through? This not only puts things into perspective, it also takes your mind off of all the things you could be doing. Take a moment or two every day to ask these questions and reflect – the work will be there when you get back.


Keep up with my daily adventures:

FacebookFacebookInstagramPinterestTwitterTwitter

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

